301 Redirects Delete Page Content
Let's say you have a page called "Page A". You decide you want to put a 301 redirect in place for "Page A".
When you do this in Siteglide, the system deletes all the HTML content that was in the page you're redirecting.
Here's a 1min video of it happening:
https://www.loom.com/share/96b6fe18653d4f2681135842b97adaec
This is problematic because often times we are redirecting a page because it's out of date, but we need to reference it, to make a copy, or take some HTML from it for a newer version we're redirecting to.
Log in to comment and vote
Comments2
Nov 10, 2022
Devon Reehl
Feb 2, 2022
Matt Walter I'm not sure if I should add this here, or to it's own bug report, happy to repost elsewhere but I didn't see it documented outside of a private Slack convo.
301 redirects have Case Sensitivity issues - here's the summary of the issue in 4mins:
https://www.loom.com/share/2edcad33e0c34b70a6c135fed11f997b
Matt W thinks this is happening when creating a redirect using the admin because Siteglide saves the files as like {{url.toLowerCase}}.liquid
So both upper and lower case would save to the same file, thus overwriting each other.
Currently the only workaround is to use the CLI to create redirects which takes development resources.